Holy Spirit as “She”?

image

I find my heart thrills just a little when someone is brave enough to refer to the Holy Spirit as She.
I know gender is only emphatic when we refer to Jesus, after all he was a man, flesh and blood, no doubt about that. But Papa God, although he is mostly seen as Father, is also referred to as a mother, oh goodness, how tender those moments.
When I see the Spirit called “She” it somehow sneaks under my radar and does something new and different to the usual “He”.

Why is this? I’m not entirely sure, but it is precious. I appreciate it as I’ve been part of the evangelical church for all of my life, so to hear “She”, startles me every time, maybe one day it won’t but for now it does and I relish it. There’s a difference to men and women, and we aren’t all stereotypically male or female in our behaviour, but we are different. And so, to hear Holy Spirit is “She”…oh my…thank you for those who are brave enough to face the stony looks and just say it, even if it is only sometimes.

6 thoughts on “Holy Spirit as “She”?

  1. I think the church has done a great job in communicating the Father heart of God, but there’s also a mothering aspect of God that’s so important. Men and women were both created in the image of God and both genders carry aspects of His nature. 🙂

  2. The Spirit in Hebrew (ruach) is feminine. And it’s usually used with feminine verbs in the Old Testament (80 out of 89 times). The word for Spirit in the New Testament (pneuma) is neuter, so can be either. I think part of the problem is that we tend to think in terms of gender rather than relationally. God is like a Father to a son, nurtures like a mother, etc. God is both! Like you said, only Jesus is a man because of the incarnation. But we need both the masculine and feminine aspects of God to fully experience His love.

Leave a Reply

